Multan History
  Multan Attraction


In every town in a City District, there shall be a Town Municipal Administration (TMA) which shall be a body corporate and shall consist of a Town Nazim, Town Municipal Officer, Town Officers and other officers of the Local Council Service and officials of the offices entrusted to the TMA. The TMA will be responsible for spatial planning (land use planning and zoning), development facilitation/control
(site development and building control) and municipal services (water, sanitation, solid waste, roads and streets, street lights, graveyards, fire fighting, traffic engineering, abattoirs, parks and open spaces) in a town of the City District, except those functions which for technical or other reasons are retained with the City District Government. The TMA will be responsible for planning, capital investments and operation and maintenance of municipal services.


The provincial line departments and defunct local councils which will comprise the TMA are as: All defunct ULCs (including DMCs in Karachi ), excluding such functions and associated officers, staff and assets which under the Local Government Ordinance 2001 are not assigned to it. The defunct District Council (with the associated officers, staff and assets), in as far as these relate to functions assigned to TMA under the Ordinance.

Provincial Government Departments decentralised to the TMA:

Local Government and Rural Development Department.
Public Health Engineering Department.
Housing and Town Planning/ Physical Planning Department.

Offices The Local Government Ordinance 2001 describes a broad organisational structure for the TMA. This includes four Town Officers (Planning; Infrastructure and Services; Regulation; and, Finance).

Province Punjab
Location 30.2°′″N, 71.45°′″E
Altitude 710 Feet
Area 3,721km²
Time Zone (GMT +5)
Towns 6 Towns
Population 5 Million
Copyrights 2012 - 14 | All rights reserved by : City District Government, Multan.